The Counterfeit Scoundrel

The Chessmen: Masters of Seduction Series - Book 1

By Lorraine Heath

Avon - February 2023

Historical Romance

David Blackwood was on a mission. Not to seduce married women, as everyone thought, but to help them leave marriages. The only way to do that was through an affair, or at least the illusion of one. It may not make him welcome in polite society, but he was able to help women who had nowhere else to turn.

Marguerite "Daisy" Townsend too was on a mission. She had been hired by a husband to prove that his wife was having an affair with David. So she had finagled a position in his household. There was open acknowledgement with the staff of David's visitors, but she needed definitive proof of the affair. Unfortunately, that put her in closer contact with David, and started to arouse his suspicions.

When David needed an investigator to help him, there was only one person he trusted to turn to. The only question was whether he'd realize that she was also the one person he should trust with his future, before it was too late.

The Counderfeit Scoundrel is an enjoyable romance by an author who always delivers a memorable read. Daisy is an interesting heroine, working a fascinating career. David is a dedicated hero whose personal mission might make him miss out on his own perfect heroine. Although part of a series, and tied to the previous, it stands alone. I enjoyed every aspect of this story, and look forward to the next.

Kathy Andrico -


FTC Disclaimer: I did receive a copy for review. However, this website only posts "good" reviews. If I cannot post a positive review, I notify whoever has provided me with the book/ARC/ebook.